Opinions & Insights

Blog pieces written by OSF and guest authors

OSF Opinions & Insights

Filter Content
Showing 244 items for Opinion and Insights
Kelly Case
June 09, 2020

SECURITY ROUNDUP: How Women in Sudan are Charting a New Course

Recently OSF and the McCain Institute hosted a panel discussion on the incredible work women peacebuilders in Sudan did to oust former President, Omar al-Bashir, how they are working to create a more inclusive and democratic Sudan for the future, and challenges they face.
Stephenie Foster
March 13, 2020

Is US Foreign Policy Feminist?

Our Secure Future commissioned a poll of 1,500 registered voters in the U.S. to get a sense of how they view foreign policy decision-makers, whether they see themselves represented in that arena, and whether they consider themselves to be a feminist.
March 10, 2020

Letter from the Director

March 10, 2020--Yesterday we announced the establishment of the Women, Peace and Security Caucus in the US House of Representatives.
Erin Cooper
October 25, 2019

Families in the Digital Age

By leveraging their unique position as confidantes and influencers in families and communities, women and mothers could become important agents of change and key players in the fight against online violence and hate speech.
September 26, 2019

Men Engage Alliance

“We envision a world where all people are equal and free from discrimination– a world in which gender justice and human rights are promoted and protected. In order to achieve gender justice for all, we believe men and boys need to be part of the solution as allies to women’s rights and other social ...
September 09, 2019

TedTalk Tuesday: Manal Omar

“Wherever I’ve served, I always get some rendition of the same line, from U.S. generals to Libya militias, to Afghan religious leaders, “As soon as this war is over we can talk about your women.” And I always have the same response. This war isn’t going to be over until you include the women.”
August 28, 2019

Brave Girls Film Review

Brave Girls tells a universally relatable coming-of-age story about rebellion against societal expectations, falling in love, and how the consequences of your decisions can shape the rest of your life. Following three young women from Dholka, India, the film shows how they are charting their own pat...